Arkansas Economic Development Commission


New Honorary Consul of the Czech Republic in Arkansas

Ambassador of the Czech Republic to the U.S., Petr Gandalovič introduced Lenka Horakova into the office of the Honorary Consul of the Czech Republic in Arkansas at a ceremony held today at the Arkansas Governor’s Mansion. Participating in the ceremony was Governor Mike Beebe.

“Lenka has been a tremendous asset in enhancing Arkansas’ relations with current and future European investors,” Governor Beebe said. “This summer, I saw firsthand how well-respected she is in her native Czech Republic, and I know that she will serve that nation well here in Arkansas. This is a great honor for Lenka, and we are proud to count her as an Arkansan.”

Lenka Horakova, the Arkansas Economic Development Commission’s Business Development Director for Europe, a U.S. citizen, has lived in Arkansas for the past seventeen years.  She is an honors graduate of the University of Arkansas in Little Rock and its graduate school of business.

“It is my great pleasure to introduce such a positive and acknowledged person to represent the Czech Republic in Arkansas. Lenka undoubtedly is to become a valuable member of our honorary consulates corps within the United States,” said Ambassador Gandalovič.

As Honorary Consul, Horakova’s duties will include:

  • Notarization of documents for use in the Czech Republic
  • Assistance for Czech citizens visiting Arkansas
  • Trade development
  • Tourism promotion
  • Cultural exchange facilitation
  • Compatriot affairs
  • Contact details of the Honorary Consulate:

Honorary Consulate of the Czech Republic to Arkansas
(501) 588-0504

The Czech Republic is celebrating its 25th anniversary of independence this year. Communism ended in 1989 and the country returned to a liberal democracy through the peaceful “Velvet Revolution”. In January 1990, Václav Havel was elected president in the country’s first democratic elections. On January 1, 1993, Czechoslovakia peacefully split into two independent countries, the Czech Republic and Slovakia.

The population of the Czech Republic is approximately 10.5 million. The current President of the Czech Republic is Miloš Zeman. The country is a member of the European Union (EU), the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE), and the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO).