Page logo

Data Analytics that are Robust & Trusted (DART)

Arkansas NSF EPSCoR Research Infrastructure Improvement Track 1

The Arkansas Economic Development Commission’s Division of Science and Technology and our university partners won a National Science Foundation Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (NSF EPSCoR) Track-1 grant for $20 million to be awarded over five years. The State of Arkansas will match the grant with an additional $4 million.


The project, “Data Analytics that are Robust and Trusted” (DART) will work to systematically investigate key aspects of three barriers to big data (management, security/privacy, and model interpretability) and develop integrated solutions to address them. DART will work to find novel ways to overcome these barriers through an integrated approach, exploring techniques guided by social science with an understanding of data and learning from various fields including computer science, engineering, geographic information science, bioinformatics, and information systems.


Our research is of interest in domain areas which are aligned with the Arkansas Science & Technology Plan and we will apply our results to transaction-based commerce, behavior in social networks, systems biology, and logistics & transportation. Our team of researchers are organized into six broad areas of expertise:


  • data curation and life cycle analysis
  • social awareness
  • social media and networks
  • learning and prediction
  • research and development infrastructure
  • data science education


In addition to cutting edge research, DART will build a “Data Science Educational Ecosystem” for the State of Arkansas by defining a combination of model programs, degrees, pedagogy, and curriculum in data science; providing resources and training for educators; providing educational opportunities inside and outside the classroom for students; and ensuring broad participation to impact the state’s pipeline of data science skilled workers.


Participating institutions include:


  • Arkansas State University at Beebe
  • Arkansas State University at Mountain Home
  • Arkansas State University at Jonesboro
  • Black River Technical College
  • Cossatot Community College UA
  • Northwest Arkansas Community College
  • Philander Smith College
  • Shorter College
  • Southern Arkansas University Tech
  • Southern Arkansas University
  • UA Community College at Batesville
  • UA Community College at Morrilton
  • UA Pulaski Technical College
  • University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
  • University of Arkansas at Fayetteville
  • University of Arkansas at Little Rock
  • University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff
  • University of Central Arkansas


Support for the Arkansas EPSCoR Program is provided by the National Science Foundation's Research Infrastructure Improvement Award OIA-1946391.


For more information, contact Steve Stanley ([email protected]).