About AEDC | Find Properties | Contact Business Development

AEDC awards 23 community grants totaling more than $7 million

 August 18, 2020

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (August 18, 2020) – The Arkansas Economic Development Commission (AEDC) has awarded $7,162,966 in Community Development Block Grants (CDBG) to 23 Arkansas counties and communities.

The grants were awarded under the General Assistance set-aside, which is designed to provide communities the opportunity to apply for a variety of non-housing public facility and public infrastructure projects. These funds originate from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) through the Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) State Program for Small Cities.

The 23 projects include the following cities and counties:

  • Alicia: $95,000—Drainage improvements
  • Augusta: $200,000—Public library construction
  • Beedeville: $200,000—Water rehab
  • Birdsong: $200,000—Wastewater rehab
  • Bodcaw: $558,162—New water construction
  • Bonanza: $200,000—Wastewater rehab
  • Briarcliff: $1,000,000—New water construction
  • Carroll County: $198,265—Health unit improvements
  • Dell: $200,000—Drainage improvements
  • Dierks: $199,825—Wastewater rehab
  • Emerson: $133,574—Wastewater rehab
  • England: $200,000—Wastewater rehab
  • Eudora: $199,950—Emergency shelter improvements
  • Flippin: $1,000,000—New wastewater construction
  • Hermitage: $358,640—New wastewater construction
  • Howard County: $199,200—Water rehab
  • Hughes: $823,200—Wastewater rehab
  • Izard County: $200,000—Senior center improvement
  • Kensett: $200,000—Wastewater rehab
  • Mammoth Spring: $200,000—Senior center construction
  • Mountain Home: $200,000—Children’s Advocacy Center renovations
  • Peach Orchard: $197,150—Street improvement
  • Tuckerman: $200,000—Food pantry expansion

To be eligible for CDBG funds through this program, communities must have a population of less than 50,000, and at least 51 percent of the persons benefitting from the project must be of low- to moderate-income. All Arkansas cities and counties are eligible for the grant program with the exception of 13 entitlement cities that receive CDBG funds directly from HUD.

For more information on the CDBG program, contact the Grants Management Division at (501) 682-7682 or visit https://www.arkansasedc.com/grants.


About the Arkansas Economic Development Commission 

The Arkansas Economic Development Commission (AEDC), a division of the Arkansas Department of Commerce, seeks to create economic opportunity by attracting higher-paying jobs, expanding and diversifying local economies in the state, increasing incomes and investment, and generating growth throughout The Natural State. Arkansas is a pro-business environment operating leaner, faster and more focused through a streamlined state government designed to act on corporate interests quickly and decisively. For more information, visit www.ArkansasEDC.com. The Arkansas Department of Commerce is the umbrella department for workforce and economic development drivers. Its divisions and regulatory boards include Division of Aeronautics, Waterways Commission, Wine Producers Council, Division of Workforce Services, Office of Skills Development, State Bank Department, Insurance Department, Securities Department, Economic Development Commission and Development Finance Authority. It was established July 2019 as part of Governor Asa Hutchinson’s wide-sweeping efficiency and transformation efforts to reduce 42 cabinet agencies to 15 while maintaining services for all Arkansans.