National Career Readiness Certificate

The National Career Readiness Certificate (CRC) is a portable credential that confirms to employers that an individual possesses basic workplace skills in reading for information, applied mathematics, and locating information. Even if a job seeker has a GED, high school diploma or post-secondary degree, the National CRC further verifies that he/she can handle skills required for 21st-century jobs. To date, the National CRC program has qualified more than 59,000 high-skilled positions.

Benefits to Employers:

  • Reduces turnover, overtime, and waste while increasing morale
  • Takes the guesswork out of selection decisions
  • Improves the effectiveness of training dollars
  • Meets Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) requirements
  • To learn more about the National Career Readiness Certificate program, visit the Arkansas Department of Workforce Services visit https://www.dws.arkansas.gov/job-seekers/career-readiness-certification.

The Modern Workplace Program

Created to facilitate the connection and communication between educators and industry representatives.

The Modern Workplace program was created to facilitate the connection and communication between educators and industry representatives in an effort to create an educational environment that allows our emerging workforce to lead productive lives and satisfy the needs of Arkansas businesses.

Objectives of the program are to:

  • Connect educators with local/regional employers to gain familiarity with local products and processes utilized in the workplace.
  • Link employers with the local/regional school system to foster ongoing relationships with educators.
  • Provide educators with local/regional business context they can use to supplement current teaching curriculum.
  • Familiarize educators with career opportunities in local industry and the skills needed to be successful.

Download the Modern Workplace Flyer

Arkansas Institute for Performance Excellence

Provides training and consultation and administers the Governor's Quality Award Program. Any public or privately held organization of any size located in Arkansas may apply.

The Institute uses the seven categories of the Criteria for Performance Excellence as a guideline for training and application to the Governor's Quality Award. They are:

  • Leadership
  • Strategic Planning
  • Workforce Focus
  • Customer Focus
  • Knowledge Management
  • Process Management
  • Results

Consultants can also assist organizations not applying for  in performing self-assessments using the Criteria for Performance Excellence. More information can be found at arkansas-quality.org.

The program utilizes the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award criteria

Annual  training seminars are conducted regionally to assist companies with quality improvement systems

AEDC and Arkansas Governor’s Quality Award System has developed a partnership to utilize Baldrige National Quality Award criteria to engage Arkansas Companies in a TQM  system

50% of AEDC’s Existing Business Resource division has completed Quality Examination training and have been involved in GQA examinations

The program partners with the Arkansas State Chamber of Commerce, Arkansas Economic Development Commission and Arkansas Manufacturing Solutions to provide additional professional development and quality process improvement training to organizations across the state of Arkansas.

Randy Brinkley

Northeast Arkansas Manager, Existing Business Resources

(870) 215-3486